Uploaded image for project: 'GMAT'
  1. GMAT
  2. GMT-3028

Script Editor "Save" button turns sync status Unsynchronized

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Open (View Workflow)
    • Priority: P2
    • Resolution: Unresolved
    • Affects Version/s: R2014a, R2015a, R2016a, R2017a, R2018A
    • Fix Version/s: R2018A
    • Labels:
      None
    • Environment:

      Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
      2012-08-13 build

      Description

      1. Open GMAT
      2. Open a script
      3. Open the Script Editor
      4. Make a change to the script
      5. Click Save (not Save,Sync)
      6. The GUI/Script Sync Status indicator will turn Unsynchronized

        Gliffy Diagrams

          Attachments

            Activity

            Hide
            shughes Steven Hughes added a comment -

            CCB: We believe this is not a bug. If the script has been changed and the GUI is not updated, the two view are unsynchronized.

            Please clarify or close.

            Show
            shughes Steven Hughes added a comment - CCB: We believe this is not a bug. If the script has been changed and the GUI is not updated, the two view are unsynchronized. Please clarify or close.
            Hide
            jjkparker Joel Parker added a comment -

            I still think that Script Modified is the correct status here.

            From the spec:

            Script Modified: The mission has been modified in the script representation, but has not been synchronized to the GUI. Use the synchronization buttons in the script editor to perform this synchronization. To revert the modifications, close the script editor without saving your changes.

            Unsynchronized: The mission has been modified both in the GUI and in the script. The changes cannot be merged; you have a choice of whether to save the modifications in either representations, or whether to revert either of them. See the notes above for instructions for either case.

            This situation matches the description of Script Modified; only the method to revert the status needs to change in the description.

            I propose that when the script has been modified, whether it is saved or unsaved, it should use the Script Modified status. Only when the GUI and the script have both been modified should we be using the Unsynchronized status.

            The current behavior has some bad side effects:

            1. Load a script
            2. Modify it in the script editor (status: Script Modified)
            3. Click Save in the script editor (status: Unsynchronized)
            4. Click Save,Sync in the script editor

            The error message says:

            You will lose changes made in the GUI if the script is saved...
            

            But there are no GUI changes; there were only script changes.

            Show
            jjkparker Joel Parker added a comment - I still think that Script Modified is the correct status here. From the spec: Script Modified : The mission has been modified in the script representation, but has not been synchronized to the GUI. Use the synchronization buttons in the script editor to perform this synchronization. To revert the modifications, close the script editor without saving your changes. Unsynchronized : The mission has been modified both in the GUI and in the script. The changes cannot be merged; you have a choice of whether to save the modifications in either representations, or whether to revert either of them. See the notes above for instructions for either case. This situation matches the description of Script Modified ; only the method to revert the status needs to change in the description. I propose that when the script has been modified, whether it is saved or unsaved, it should use the Script Modified status. Only when the GUI and the script have both been modified should we be using the Unsynchronized status. The current behavior has some bad side effects: Load a script Modify it in the script editor (status: Script Modified ) Click Save in the script editor (status: Unsynchronized ) Click Save,Sync in the script editor The error message says: You will lose changes made in the GUI if the script is saved... But there are no GUI changes; there were only script changes.
            Hide
            jjkparker Joel Parker added a comment -

            Sending back to CCB after clarification above.

            Show
            jjkparker Joel Parker added a comment - Sending back to CCB after clarification above.

              People

              • Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                2 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated: